Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Nowadays, you may get gluten-free soy sauce alternatives at the stores of several well-known Chinese and Japanese soy sauce manufacturers. Although tamari is frequently promoted as a gluten-free substitute for soy sauce, this is not always the case.

Let’s get this straightened out!

In What Ways Does Soy Sauce Not Contain Gluten?

As well to soybeans, wheat or wheat flour is typically used in the fermentation process to create soy sauce. Since ordinary soy sauce contains gluten, it is unsafe for people with sensitivity to wheat to consume it. Soy sauce that has been fermented without wheat is gluten-free.

The terms “gluten-free soy sauce” and “tamari” are often used interchangeably in online articles. While tamari often does not contain gluten, this is not always the case.

In the 15th century, tamari was created from a waste product of making miso (miso is a type of Japanese fermented soybean paste).

If you need a tamari that is gluten-free, make sure to read the label carefully to make sure it isn’t diluted with wheat. This is why tamari is considered to be different from gluten-free soy sauce.

So, How Does It Actually Work?

Of course, just like how ordinary soy sauce is used.

Getting and Storing

To avoid accidentally purchasing gluten, it is important to check labels.

Put away in a pantry or other dry, cool spot. There’s no need to cool it down.

In the comments below, please ask any further questions you may have about gluten-free soy sauce, and we’ll try to answer them.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

Related Posts

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue